Two Bluegrass Country hosts, Brad Kolodner and Peter Thompson, have been nominated for the Broadcaster of the Year award from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA).

Brad Kolodner is host of The Brad Kolodner Show and Old Time Jam.  A full-time musician and community organizer based in Baltimore, he represents the next generation of old-time musicians pushing the boundaries of the tradition into uncharted territory while spreading the music far and wide. Awarded the 2016 IBMA Momentum Award for Industry Involvement, Kolodner is helping to lead the charge as a performer, teacher,  Bluegrass Country host, jam leader, community builder and ambassador for old-time and bluegrass music. He regularly performs across the country in a group with his father, Ken Kolodner, and with the acoustic roots quartet Charm City Junction.

Peter Thompson produces and hosts the weekly show Bluegrass Signal.  Thompson got his start in radio in British Columbia, and moved to Oakland in 1994.  The next year he created Bluegrass Signal at KALW in San Francisco, and since 2002 the show has also been heard on Bluegrass Country.  In 2013, the California Bluegrass Association presented him its Lifetime Membership Award, in recognition of his significant contributions to the development of bluegrass in California.

The award will be presented during the World of Bluegrass conference in Raleigh, NC on September 26.  Previous winners of the award from Bluegrass Country include Lee Michael Demsey (1991), Eddie Stubbs (1996, 2002), Gary Henderson (1999), Red Shipley (2006) and Katy Daley (2009, 2011).